top of page

Infatuated with Someone from a Different World?

Updated: Jan 28, 2022


I can't deny the fact that this film is everywhere on my social medias timeline when it first got premiered in Malaysia. This film has been overly-hyped that I feel so excited to watch it because I even encountered a friend of mine saying how this film is "different" from other anime that has ever existed. The question is, is it THAT GOOD and WORTH the hype? Let me review this movie based on my opinion.


The writer/director of this film, Makoto Shinkai, set up this film as a story about a high school girl named Mitsuha, who lives in the fictional Itomori, a beautiful village in the Hida region of Japan, and a high school boy, who is slightly older than her, named Taki, who lives in Tokyo.


These two main protagonist are both average teenagers, who has no actual relation at all, and lead their very own lives differently. One fine day, Taki wakes up and saw that he suddenly have a breasts, and he is actually in Mitsuha's body. The next day, Mitsuha wakes up, and she is back in her own body, and same thing happened to Taki. Other people around them basically mentioned that they have been acting weird lately, and that is when they found out they are switching bodies, but only after they sleep. They decided to use this "miracle" to their own benefits, meaning that, they decided to help each other out. They agreed to leave notes with each other, that acts as some sort of a diary telling what actually happened that day. However, as they got closer, they stopped changing bodies, and they have no idea to reach out to each other. Taki has this urge to go search for Mitsuha and re-unites with her. Here, is the check point where the story starts to get more interesting.

What I do learn from this film that although the situation that we are facing, sometimes may seem impossible to get the solution, all you need is a determination, and the beliefs that nothing in this world is impossible to achieve. Another thing that caught my eyes about this film is that when some things are meant to be for you, they will eventually find their ways back to you.


I think the film is definitely all-age friendly, except for kids because some of them might find this movie is too difficult to be understood. People from other age, aside from the ones that have been excluded, would definitely love the film. The most visible proof is that this movie is one of the top movies that actually won against Spirited Away in the top best anime ranking chart.


Now, what is my opinion about this anime. To be very honest, I find this anime quite bland because I have watched better anime in my own opinion. After the hype about this film went crazy, I actually did decided to join and see what is the hype about this movie, and I got disappointed. I think the story line is interesting, but not THAT super duper amazing as being mentioned by others who hyped this film. Even my friend, who is also an anime fan like me, agrees that this anime is just OK.


So, what would I rate this film? SCRAMBLED! I am very sorry to all of Your Name: Kimi no Na Wa's fans if my review might hurt you guys, but everything is just solely according to my opinion, it doesn't mean that I didn't enjoy the movie at all. You are also entitled to have your own opinion. So, cheers!


What do you guys think? Do you love the movie, Your Name? Share your thoughts with us, ReviewNesters!

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe To Us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2022 by ReviewNest. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page